Skip to Content

Universities approved by Academic Senate for Joint PhD degrees


  • Aarhus University


  • University of Helsinki


  • École Normale Supérieure de Lyon
  • Université de Lyon
    (including St Étienne)
  • Université de Toulouse
  • Université Montpellier
  • Université de Strasbourg


  • Goethe University Frankfurt
  • Heidelberg University
  • Hamburg University(*)
  • Leipzig University
  • Goettingen University
  • LMU Munich University
  • Ruhr-University Bochum
  • University of Potsdam(*^)


  • University of Trento(*^)


  • University of Amsterdam
  • Free University of Amsterdam
  • University of Utrecht
  • Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • University of Groningen(*^)
  • Radboud University Nijmegen


  • University of Bergen


  • Universidad Autónoma de Madrid


  • Lund University

United Kingdom

  • Cardiff University
  • Lancaster University
  • Heriot-Watt University(*)
  • Imperial College London
  • University of Bristol
  • University Dundee(*)
  • University of Durham
  • University of Edinburgh(*)
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow(*)
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Newcastle(*^)
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of St Andrews(*)
  • University of Strathclyde(*)
  • University of York

Joint PhD MOUs only implemented in selected cases as indicated by an asterisk (*). The asterisk with circumflex (*^) indicates a member of the consortium agreement for the Joint International Doctorate in Experimental Approaches to Language and Brain (IDEALAB).

Content cannot be accessed